What is the difference between PAL NTSC and SECAM

33 users found this article helpful

There are only three television standards in the world: NTSC, PAL, and SECAM. Each has their own attributes and they are not comaptible with each other. How this relates to Sonic and Roxio software is that if you try to import a PAL video into NTSC session, the software may not have the ability to transcode this to NTSC or vice versa. The video must be encoded to the TV standard that you intend to play it back on.

This also applies to DVD players as well. DVD players, like VHS players, are pre-made to read-only the TV standard they were created for. This is usually determined by the country the player was purchased in. Here's a brief explanation of the three different television standards and the countries that support them:




The countries that support SECAM are as follows:

Afghanistan, Benin, Burkina Faso, Bulgaria, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Czechoslovakia, Djibouti, Egypt, France, French Guiana, Gabon, Greece, Guadalupe, Guinea, Gyprus, Haiti, Hungary, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Lebanon, Libya, Madagascar, Mali, Martinique, Mauritius, Mauritania, Monaco, Morocco, Niger, North Korea, Poland, Russia, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Syria , Togo, Tunisia, Vietnam, Western Samoa, Zaire.

Was this article helpful?

Tell us how we can improve it.