How to reset AfterShot to factory defaults in Windows

0 users found this article helpful

This article involves editing the Windows registry. When working with the registry, a backup should be completed. This article from Microsoft describes how to back up the registry: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/topic/how-to-back-up-and-restore-the-registry-in-windows-855140ad-e318-2a13-2829-d428a2ab0692

In some cases, AfterShot's default installation may become corrupt or damaged preventing the application from launching or working properly. This document will restore factory defaults through a two-part process of renaming AfterShot's registry entries and configuration files.

To restore the product to its factory defaults follow the instructions listed below:

First, make sure that AfterShot is closed. This is very important. If it is open, the reset process will not work as expected.

Part 1: Reset the AfterShot's registry entries:

  1. First, it is critical to create a backup of the registry in case anything goes wrong:
    1. In the Windows Search type "Regedit" or press WIN+R and type "Regedit" 
    2. Locate Computer by scrolling to the very top of the left side of the registry  
    3. Once found, select the registry key in the left pane so that it becomes highlighted. 
    4. From the Registry Editor menu, choose File and then Export. You can also right-click or tap-and-hold the key and then choose Export.
        
    5. In the new window that appears, double-check that the Export range selected is set to ALL 
    6. Once you're sure you'll be backing up what you expected, choose a location to save the registry backup file to. 
    7.   (We usually recommend choosing the Desktop or the Documents folder) 
    8. In the File name text field, you may want to name it something like Complete Registry Backup / Reg_Backup 
    9. Select Save 
        
    10. Once complete, a new file with the REG file extension will be created in the location you selected 
  2. Click Start
  3. In the Windows Search type "Regedit" or press WIN+R and type "Regedit" 
  4. If you do not see only four or five items listed on the left:
    1. Press the left arrow on your keyboard repeatedly until you only see "Computer"
    2. Double-click on Computer to expand it.
  5. Double-click on HKEY_CURRENT_USER
  6. Double-click on Software
  7. Double-click on Corel
  8. Right click on AfterShot v3 (or AfterShot Pro v3 if you use AfterShot Pro) and choose "Rename" from the context menu.
  9. Type "AfterShot v3-old" or "AfterShot Pro v3-old". If there is a AfterShot v3-old, you can use AfterShot v3-Old-1, etc.
  10. Press Enter on your keyboard to save the change.
  11. Repeatedly press the left arrow key until you only have the Computer and the five HKEY items listed.
  12. Close the Registry Editor

Part 2: Reset the AfterShot / AfterShot Pro configuration files

  1. Click Start
  2. In Search, type %localappdata% and press Enter. This will open the Application Data folder.
  3. Double-click on Corel
  4. Right click on AfterShot or AfterShot Pro and choose Rename from the context menu.
  5. Type "AfterShot-old" or "AfterShot Pro-Old" and press enter to save the change.
    1. NOTE: If Corel-old already exists, you can use another name like Corel-Old-1, etc.
  6. Close the Application Data Folder

Part 3: Reset the Library to default 

  1. Open a file browser Window by clicking Start and selecting Windows Explorer OR pressing Win+E on the keyboard
  2. Browse to your Pictures (or My Pictures) folder.
  3. Right-click on the "AfterShot Catalog 3" or "AfterShot Pro 3 Catalog" folder and choose Rename.
  4. Rename the catalog to "AfterShot Catalog 3-old" or "AfterShot Pro 3 Catalog-old". You may add a number to the end if the -old version is already present.

When you reopen AfterShot program, it will now be at factory default. 

Was this article helpful?

Tell us how we can improve it.